Yoakum Community Hospital Inpatient

Hospital Tax District


The Yoakum Hospital Tax District was enacted by the Texas Legislature in 1965, but it was actually created by a vote of district residents in 1988.  The Yoakum Hospital District is governed by a seven-member Board of Directors elected by the qualified voters of the District.

Yoakum Hospital District
PO Box 452
Yoakum, TX 77995

Contact Person: Conyetta Gaus Swaney, Attorney
Phone: (361) 293-2652
Email: cgswaney@sbcglobal.net

The current Board of Directors include:

  • Linda Schmidt, President – 500 Hwy 77A South, Yoakum, TX 7795
  • Elaine G. Albrecht, Vice President – 1618 CR 405, Yoakum, TX 77995
  • Clay Hermann, Treasurer & District Representative on Board of Trustees – PO Box 778, Yoakum, TX 77995
  • Cynthia Morris, Secretary – PO Box 778, Yoakum, TX 77995
  • Harry Sherman, Director –  100 Trinity Street, Yoakum, TX 77995
  • Ron White, Director – 511 Kent Street, Yoakum, TX 77995
  • Mary Jo Leahy, Director – 222 Thiele Rd, Yoakum, TX 77995
Budget and Tax Rate Information

Cancelled – Election for directors May 4, 2024

Resolution No. 272 English/Spanish

Next election for directors will be May 3, 2025 at City Hall Conference Room, 808 Hwy 77A South, Yoakum, TX, 77995.

Qualifications for Office:

A person may not be elected or appointed as a director unless the person:

  1. Is a resident of the Yoakum Hospital District;
  2. Owns property in the Yoakum Hospital District subject to taxation; and
  3. Is at least 18 years of age at the time of the election or appointment.

Notice of Election 2024
Order of Election 2024
Internet Posting 2024
Information for Previous Elections